Perdaman and Designated Area Migration Agreements

What is a DAMA?

A Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) is a formal agreement between the Australian Government and a regional state body (usually a Chamber of Commerce, Regional Development Australia office, or Shire Council) that allows local Australian businesses greater access to overseas workers. In contrast to standard skilled migration programs, DAMAs are structured to allow Australian regions greater flexibility and access when responding to their individual economic and labour market needs.

Benefits of a DAMA

DAMAs allow a Designated Area Representative (DAR) to negotiate concessions, such as around age, skill, English competency and minimum salary threshold, sometimes up to 10% of the temporary skilled migration income threshold.

DAMAs can also form a pathway to permanent residency through semi-skilled roles. This creates more opportunities for candidates who may not otherwise be included under the eligible skills outlined in Schedule 1 and 2 of the Australian migration program.

Furthermore, DAMAs provide:

  • Greater access to skilled and semi-skilled overseas workers in specified industries that are currently experiencing critical skill and labour shortages
  • Access to a broader list of occupations; such as roles in the prominent FIFO industry
  • Access to occupations not in Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO)

Why Perdaman?

Perdaman Global Services can connect local Australian employers with aspiring overseas candidates wishing to immigrate to Australia, and help them navigate their relevant DAMA. Specializing in immigration, recruitment and translating and interpreting services; our team has the expertise to determine candidate eligibility under skilled visa concessions – as negotiated between the Australian Government and a DAR.

As a current holder of an individual DAMA labour agreement, Perdaman can work with you to nominate and sponsor skilled and semi-skilled overseas workers for certain occupations in any of the approved regions.

Applicable Visa Categories

Employers and businesses operating within relevant regions can acquire individual DAMA labour agreements, which are valid for up to 5 years and affect the following visa programs:

  • 482 Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS)
  • 494 Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional)
  • 186 Employer Nominated Scheme (ENS)

What DAMAs do we have in Western Australia?

There are currently 12 DAMA agreements nation-wide; however only 4 are held in Western Australia (WA).

To find out how to take advantage of the DAMAs in your region, contact or call +61 8 9429 5111 today.